Christmas-Cookies.com

62 days until Christmas!

Follow Me on Pinterest

Start here to find
Christmas Cookie Recipes

Recipes and baking tips; all you need for the most memorable Christmas cookies ever. Over 570 recipes and counting! Browse our collection of scrumptious modern and traditional Christmas cookie recipes.

Type in Recipe name or ingredient to search.

Skip advertisement and go to Recipe Category listing

AS

Reviews of Forgotten Cookies


6-15 of 58 reviews   << Previous - Next >>

  Pam in Haymarket VA  Dec 17, 2008
Would make this again.
I've made theis recipe about 20 times, and 20% of the time it fails to get stiff. I've tried isolating the variables and here's what I think is the problem....If egg yolk gets in, it doesn't get stiff. If anyone else has success when egg yolk gets in, please do tell. 5 stars

   Dec 16, 2008
Would make this again.
Wonderful cookie. I make them every year and change it just a little bit. This year I added pieces of white chocolate and peppermint and it was wonderful. My favorite so far this year! 5 stars

  Jen in Pennsylvania  Dec 1, 2008
Would make this again.
Great cookie. My grandmother made these for me growing up but she put coconut in it also. Its great with or without the coconut. 5 stars

  Elnora in GA.  Sep 14, 2008
Would make this again.
Yes I have had them before but I had forgotten how to make them, because I had made them with a friend. So glad I found this recipe, I'll be makeing a large amount saturday. 5 stars

  jen in PA  Jun 27, 2008
Would make this again.
they are my favorite cookie ever. 5 stars

  Forgotten Cookies in Richardson, Texas  Feb 10, 2008
Would make this again.
This recipe makes 3-4 dozen cookies about the size of a 50 cent piece. They were a great hit with my daughter's Sunday school class! 5 stars

  Max, a Chicka with a sweet tooth in Alaska  Jan 30, 2008
Would make this again.
I tried making this twice. It was my first time ever working with egg whites, let alone trying to make meringue. The first batch I didn't beat long enough because I didn't know what the author of the recipe considered "stiff" so it turned out too liquidy and I had to toss it. The second time I made it I broke out my hand mixer and set it to "Whip" and whipped the egg whites and salt until it was fluffy (which would be a better word to use instead of 'stiff' I think)
and then I separated it into 3 bowls so I could have a variety of colorful cookies, in one bowl I put one drop of red to make pink cookies, in another bowl I put two drops of green to make green cookies and in the third bowl I put four drops of blue - because I wanted it to be a slightly darker shade of blue cookies... Anywho, the blue one came out looking/ tasting like crap. They were too thin and crispy; the green ones were slightly better, and the pink ones were just alright. So needless to say I think this recipe could be less vague in certain areas, so that even a dumby like me can get it right.. I will make these again with out any food coloring and see if they turn out better.
3 stars

  Adam in Denver  Dec 16, 2007
Would make this again.
Using pasturized egg whites does not work well because the pasturization process denatures (breaks down the protiens) in the eggwhites. In point of fact most of the pasturized eggwhite cartons that we found said that they would not make a merange. You can whip all you want but all you will get is a liquid. The cookies themeselves are excellant, however temperatures of over 175-200 degrees for an hour or more will kill most bacteria in mixtures as thin as eggwhites, whle it only takes a temperature of about 150 to denature the protiens. A turkey or a chicken cooked at that temperature for such a short time will not kill bacteria because of the thickness of the meat. Eggwhites on the other hand yes. Adam Timmons BA Chem. 2 stars

  Heather in Sacramento  Dec 8, 2007
Would make this again.
I love these cookies, and I had lost my recipe and forgot the amounts so found and used this one and I love it. 5 stars

  A cookie baker in oregon  Dec 12, 2006
Would make this again.
Try using mint chocolate chips and green food coloring. Great Holiday cookies 5 stars

Add Your Review!

Read the Review Guidelines opens in new window

  • Please rate:
  • Yes   No

Submit a recipe!

Share your original or adapted recipe

Go!

AS